14 thoughts on “The Road I Take

  1. Sgdividends says:

    I think you will have no problem reaching your passive target of 60k given that you have 40% cash. This Tuesday can reach already given present prices especially if you buy reits or trust…

    Thanks for sharing about your retirement at age 42 thereabouts if I remembered . An inspiration .

    Just wondering about the 3500pa insurance , if I’m not wrong you have no dependents so maybe a leakage? Hospitalisation insurance don’t cause that much

    Like

    • an9elfire says:

      Hello Sgdividends,

      I am inclined to stay more in cash now for peace of mind. I know that I can invest the 40% cash into higher yielding equities but somehow, I hesitate cos I feel there may be a better time. I am also looking at property. If I buy, I will need the cash.

      Retired from work, but going back to find work that will interest me. Hope I will reflect at end of 2017 meaningfully.

      My 3500pa insurance includes 3 endowments, 1 term and a hospital plan. I also have a life insurance on a friend that I bought over when she didn’t want to service it. Most are ending at my age 50. I will keep them till maturity as the insurance companies pay out a maturity bonus that is a significant part of the yield.

      Happy new year 🙂

      Like

  2. will says:

    Reading your blog, I believe you are a great and outstanding teacher. Why not continue to help change and transform life by contributing your time the free tution programmes by charity organisation such as CDAC, mendaki etc as you do not need the money? You can still make a difference one life at a time 🙂

    Like

    • an9elfire says:

      Thanks Will for the compliments. I believe I was a good teacher too. I have been out of serious teaching (everyday, for >10 years) for a short while so I am not going back so soon. Maybe some day I will. Now I just wan to do different stuff.

      Thanks for the suggestions 🙂 happy new year.

      Like

  3. tacomob says:

    Powerful reflections you do share there.
    You are in an enviable position. Stay grateful for that and make the best of your “freedom of time”.
    I am looking forward to reading about your meaningful, pleasurable and making-the-world-a-better-place “work” soon.
    What would you do if you weren’t afraid?

    Like

    • an9elfire says:

      Hello tacomob,

      Thanks for reading. 2017 is a blank page so far. I am also looking to fill it with interesting happenings. But like what u advised the other day, I don’t wan to be in a hurry to fill it up for the sake of being busy. I wan serenity in my mind and that will take time for me to quieten down, to quell those fears 🙂

      Happy new year 🙂

      Like

  4. Createwealth8888 says:

    Reaching financial independence may not be tough if we live simpler life with less wants; but when we have been living so simply what else can we do when we have lots more time to do less when we no longer work 8 to 10 hours workdays?

    How to partially replace these 8 to 10 hours workdays without incurring more expenses for those activities?

    Like

    • an9elfire says:

      Hello 🙂 doing meaningful activities/work is the trick I believe. The crux is to identify these “meanings”, preferably when we are still working. The expenses for these activities can be worked into the retirement funds or managed somehow. Different folks, different strokes, so we all have to find our own serenity 🙂 happy new year!

      Like

  5. Kate says:

    MMM,

    Came across your blog recently and thanks for sharing your experience. It has been truly insightful and your philosophy and pursue to financial independence definitely emulates what we forsee ourselves to be in future as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

